Notes from a Foreign Field: Read and Contribute to the Constitutional Court Review

Constitutional Court Review – Now Available for Free Online Download

 All volumes of the Constitutional Court Review can now be read for free on an open access, dedicated website at: Print versions of Volume V (and all forthcoming issues) can also be purchased directly from Juta Law at

Constitutional Court Review, an accredited, peer-reviewed international journal of record, tracks the work of South Africa’s highest court. Renowned domestic and international authors reflect on recent case law in order to assess more general, long-term trends in the Constitutional Court’s jurisprudence.

Both the Academy of Science of South Africa and the Department of Higher Education and Training have recognised the Constitutional Court Review as a truly remarkable publication. They noted the high calibre of writing, the global sweep of institutions represented and its clear commitment to demographic representivity and the development of aspirant academics. A number of highly rated National Research Foundation academics serve as editors on an impressive editorial committee.

A complete list of the contributors is beyond the scope of this letter, but a full compendium would embrace: Frank Michelman (Harvard); Tshepo Madlingozi (Pretoria); Andre Van Walt (Stellenbosch); Karl Klare (Northeastern); Cora Hoexter (Witwatersrand); Dire Tladi (United Nations); Sanele Sibanda (Witwatersrand); Sujit Choudhry (NYU/Berkeley); Samuel Issacharoff: (New York University); Theunis Roux (New South Wales); Martin Krygier (New South Wales); Katharine Young (Boston College) David Landau (Florida State); Anton Fagan (Cape Town); Steve Ellmann (New York); Chris Mbazira (Makerere); Cathi Albertyn (Witwatersrand); Drucilla Cornell (London/Rutgers); Pierre De Vos (Cape Town); Nico Steytler (Western Cape); Lilian Chenwi (Witwatersrand); Heinz Klug (Wisconsin); Conrado Hubner Mendes (Sao Paulo); David Bilchitz (Johannesburg); Geo Quinot (Stellenbosch); Lucy Williams (Northeastern); Redson Kapindu (Judge, Malawi); Denise Meyerson (Melbourne); Daria Roithmayr (Southern California); Rosalind Dixon (Chicago); Christian Courtis (United Nations); Tom Ginsburg (Chicago); Okyerebea Ampofo-Anti (Webber Wentzel); Wessel Le Roux (Western Cape); Mkhululi Stubbs (Advocate, JHB Bar); Brian Ray (Cleveland Marshall); Jackie Dugard (Witwatersrand); James Fowkes (Yale); Michael Dafel (SAIFAC); Mia Swart (Johannesburg); Thomas Coggin; (Witwatersrand); Ngwako Raboshakga (Edward Nathan Sonnenbergs); Catherine O’Regan (Constitutional Court Justice, Emeritus); Geoff Budlender (Advocate, Legal Resources Centre (founder); Vanessa Barolsky (Human Sciences Research Council); Bonita Meyersfeld (Witwatersrand); Franziska Sucker (Witwatersrand); Juha Tuovinen (European University Institute); Karthy Govender (KwaZulu Natal); Ben Winks (Webber Wentzel).

The Constitutional Court Review enjoys the support of a number of institutions. The Konrad Adenauer Stiftung, the South African Institute for Advanced Constitutional, Public, Human Rights and International Law (a Centre of the University of Johannesburg), Constitutional Law of South Africa generally solicits essays, articles, responses and comments by formal invitation, the journal also and the University of the Witwatersrand provide the funding necessary to produce the Constitutional Court Review.

While the journal publishes voluntary submissions. To contribute, please email Professor Stu Woolman at or





Yours Sincerely,

The CCR Editorial Team

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s